+ Reply to Thread

Thread: I'm New to Hiking and Campingand I Need Advice

I'm New to Hiking and Campingand I Need Advice

Hello! I live close to a branch of the Finger Lakes Trail in New York State. I've done day hikes on it with a group and I loved it. I think it would be really cool to do an overnight solo hike. It wouldn't be anything dramatic. I was thinking about an out and back. I was thinking about getting a two-person tent in case my wife ever wanted to come with me. I envision hiking to a certain point where I get tired or when it starts to get dark. I would then find a suitable place to set up camp and spend the night. My question is about where I can spend the night. The trail goes through some undeveloped parks and county forests where camping is not allowed. I guess I don't understand why camping is not allowed. The areas are pretty remote. I can't imagine how anyone would know a solo hiker was camping trail side overnight. Is this an issue I need to worry about? I don't want to break the rules or breach protocol. But, it seems to the uninitiated like a case of "no harm, no foul". Advice, please?

Yea I hear ya on that one. Go about stealth camping I think you will be fine. Keep your fire small or limited to cooking only, or not have one at all. Stay incognito. I really don't think you will have a problem.

The question that comes to my mind whenever I do things like that are what about the car? If Rangers see a parked car and no one at the campsites overnight they can assume something. So I normally put a sign in my window that says "Car battery dead, went to town, be back soon." Never had any problems.

I would suggest a small 2P tent, like a Marmot Twilight 2P or even better a Henry Shires Tarp Tent. This way it is easy for you to carry whether you need space for a two person or just yourself.
    "Do not fear mistakes, there are none" - Miles Davis